Teriyaki Meatballs + Weekly Update

My work schedule has been sparse and school doesn’t start for another week so I’m finding myself twiddling my thumbs a little bit.

But… that’s just alright because I’ve had time to focus on some important things that usually don’t get all of my attention! I don’t read much for leisure anymore but I’ve been able to do that a lot more lately (I may have picked up a Harry Potter book or two by default). I even grabbed an actual, physical newspaper for the first time in years.

Larry, Bryan’s dad, is coming to visit for a few days this week for a work conference. We are excited to have dinner together and catch up. My mom is coming in November to spend some time with us then too. We are pretty happy to have visitors – it can be lonely out here some times! One of Bryan’s distant cousins is also coming to stay with us for a night. He is interviewing at USUHS where Bryan is attending school.

Bryan is spending all of Labor Day in the library but we did enjoy ourselves at a ward BBQ on Saturday. Our friends in the ward invited us to go to the U.S. men’s soccer game and watch them play Peru. I wasn’t able to go because of work but I think Bryan really enjoyed watching some sports again. It has been an interesting transition into a family ward but we have met some good people and like all the cultural aspects of living in such a diverse area. My dentist is Russian and about half the customers that come into my work every day are foreign. I’ve met people from Italy, Brazil, England, Russia, Ukraine, India, Pakistan, Japan, Mexico, Haiti etc. I like talking to people from other countries and I hope the military takes us somewhere new. That would be exciting.

I’m sorry this post has been super random but I figured I needed to write an update on something. What we had for dinner tonight: Teriyaki Meatballs. They were delicious, really easy and healthy. I modified the recipe a little bit and used ground turkey instead of beef/pork and served them over a bed of jasmine rice.

Teriyaki Meatballs

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 pound ground beef (Again, I substituted the meat with ground turkey)
  • 1 pound ground pork
  • 1/2 cup Panko breadcrumbs
  • 2 large egg yolks
  • 2 green onions, thinly sliced
  • 2 cloves garlic, pressed
  • 1 tablespoon grated ginger
  • 1 teaspoon soy sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon white pepper (I just used black because I’ve never heard of “white pepper”)
  • Sesame seeds, for garnish

TERIYAKI SAUCE INGREDIENTS

  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 2 tablespoons honey

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Coat a cooling rack with nonstick spray and place on baking sheet; set aside. In a small bowl, whisk together cornstarch and 1/4 cup water; set aside. In a small saucepan over medium heat, add soy sauce, brown sugar, ginger, garlic powder, honey and 1 cup water; bring to a simmer. Stir in cornstarch mixture until thickened enough to coat the back of a spoon, about 2 minutes.

In a large bowl, combine meat, Panko breadcrumbs, egg yolks, green onions, garlic, ginger, soy sauce and pepper. Using a wooden spoon or clean hands, stir until well combined. Roll the mixture into 1 1/2-inch meatballs, forming about 40 meatballs. Place meatballs onto prepared baking sheet and bake until golden brown and cooked through, about 20-25 minutes.

Serve meatballs immediately with teriyaki sauce, garnished with green onion and sesame seeds.

*Recipe taken from damndelicious.net

You could definitely add a side of roasted vegetables to this meal which would up the health factor and give it more variety. Meatballs are great because they can be adapted to whatever you want! They even have vegetarian meatballs out there that I want to try someday. I seriously love food and I love trying new kinds. Bryan thinks my love of food is a little crazy. I think he could be content with eating the same things every week for the rest of his life but I am trying to throw some more variety in there šŸ˜‰ As I’ve been experimenting, I’ve discovered some foods that he really likes that I never would have guessed. Foods like lentils, sprouts, chickpeas, sweet potatoes, beets, and cabbage!

I also made some lemon cookies this weekend for the ward BBQ which were inhaled very quickly. Sometimes you just need a cookie.

Be back next week!

Leave a Reply

